Nets, Jets and Mets? Nyet, no one has ever won in New York with Bill de Blasio as mayor

Highlights of the article:

  • Mayor Bill de Blasio to leave without any New York team winning a title during his tenure
  • The New York Giants in 2012 were the last team in the metro area to hoist a trophy
  • Fiorello La Guardia presided over nine champions from 1934 to 1945

John “Bluto” Blutarsky has nothing on Bill de Blasio. The character played by John Belushi in Animal house compiled a GPA of 0.0 in the 1978 film. It’s hard to do in any college, even fictional, but de Blasio pulled off an even more incredible feat: he would complete eight years as a mayor of New York without hosting a victory parade for the New York Yankees, Brooklyn Nets, or any of the metro area’s professional sports franchises.

Sent to power in 2013 and re-elected in 2013, de Blasio will leave in January 2022 without a single local NFL, NBA, NHL, MLB or MLS team winning a league championship.

Bill de Blasio’s eight years as mayor will come to an end without any major professional team in New York or the metro area winning a championship. | Eduardo Munoz Alvarez / VIEWpress / Corbis via Getty Images

As the New York Post says, it’s the Blas-bino curse.

And while the blame for such a depressing statistic lies with Yankees general manager Brian Cashman, Knicks tsar James Dolan, and just about everyone associated with the Jets, the futility during de Blasio’s tenure is mind-boggling. . That’s because every New York mayor, starting with John Hylan a century ago, has presided over at least one championship. The list even includes Joseph V. McKee, whose four-month stint in 1932 coincided with Babe Ruth calling his shot as the Yankees swept the Chicago Cubs.

It is not for lack of opportunities either. The metro area is full of franchises in major team sports. And they’ve all taken the pass since Eli Manning beat the Giants against the New England Patriots, 21-17, on Feb. 5, 2012, at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis. This in itself is interesting, as de Blasio, although he encourages the Mets, has been a staunch supporter of the Boston teams over the years, despite being a native of Manhattan.

Just look at all the hiccups since de Blasio took office on January 1, 2014:

  • The NFL Giants and Jets, who reside in New Jersey but are still part of New York’s sporting fabric, produced a winning season each and a combined playoff appearance during the Blasio era.
  • The MLB Yankees are a regular part of the playoffs, but haven’t made a World Series since 2009. The Mets have lost the 2015 World Series to the Kansas City Royals in five games.
  • The NBA Knicks barely showed a pulse, and the Nets didn’t play in a league championship streak during de Blasio’s time.
  • In the NHL, the Rangers made it to the Stanley Cup final just months after the mayor took office. The Islanders and Devils haven’t even done much.
  • In MLS, the two New York teams also found themselves empty.

This is in addition to a staggering amount of nothingness from the Big Apple that surely leaves locals yearning for a return to the days of Rudy Giuliani (the 1994 Rangers and four Yankees from 1996-2000) or Michael Bloomberg (the 1996-2000 Yankees). 2008 and 12 Giants and the ’09 Yankees.)

For a volume of success, however, the professional sports scene in New York has never been better than Fiorello La Guardia’s era as mayor. From 1934 to 1945, the Rangers won a Stanley Cup, the Giants won two NFL championships, and the Yankees won six World Series trophies.

So what should presumed mayor Eric Adams expect when he replaces de Blasio in early 2022? The Mets’ new spend-free property suddenly presents the possibility of a Subway World Series, and the Nets are seen as contenders even when it comes to the Kyrie Irving drama. of the day.

From a sporting standpoint, Adams doesn’t have to cross the Mendoza line to be considered a success. He just has to avoid de Blasio’s Blutarsky.

Like Sportscasting on Facebook. Follow us on twitter @ sportscasting19.

RELATED: What’s The New York Yankees Longest Winning Streak In History?

Source link

Comments are closed.