Life After Life book – the writer and the similarity with the series

The Life After Life book features the intriguing premise of infinite second chances and now the BBC adaptation brings the amazing world of Ursula Todd to a whole new audience.

Fans of the best time-slip novels might well have found themselves drawn to Life After Life’s rather unusual storyline. After Ursula Todd since her birth on several occasions, she is a heroine who constantly remakes herself. While Ursula dies frequently throughout the novel, her life clock is simply reset as she is reborn to take a slightly different path. Now that brilliant book comes to life on screen in the BBC’s dramatic adaptation of this time-hopping tale.

If you love the level of detail of the best period dramas and the emotional moments of The Last Kingdom, then this 20th century series might be the perfect spring watch.

But who wrote the Life After Life book, how similar is it to the book, and is there a sequel? We reveal what you need to know about the novel that inspired this unique BBC drama…

BBC Afterlife adaptation

(Image credit: BBC)

Who wrote the book Life After Life?

The book Life After Life was written by Kate Atkinson and although it seems likely Ursula Todd’s story was only shared with the world yesterday, it was published in 2013. Kate is the author acclaimed collection of twelve books, many of which have won awards or been adapted for television, his bestselling Jackson Brodie novels being expanded into the gripping BBC series Case Histories with Jason Isaacs.

How similar is the Life After Life book to the BBC drama?

*Warning: spoilers for the end of life after life*

As with many of the best book-to-TV adaptations and book-to-film adaptations, fans of the original Afterlife will no doubt wonder how close the new BBC drama is to the story. original by Kate Atkinson. But unlike the rather major question of who dies in Death on the Nile which is massively different from Agatha Christie’s book, or the ending of Pieces of Her which also strays in many ways, Life After Life is generally true to Kate’s plot, at least in the main plot points.

The book and show Life After Life centers on death-defying protagonist Ursula Todd, who was born with the uncanny (and often unnerving) ability to come back from the dead.

While other people might wonder “What if? It plays out similarly in Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life book and the BBC show, which tell Ursula’s story through the two world wars.

From the very first episode of Life After Life, Ursula’s many deaths parallel those that occur in Kate’s novel, from her initial stillbirth to drowning in the sea and falling out of a window trying to retrieve a doll. she believed she had been sent. by his father Hugh who had gone to war.

His many deaths in different iterations during the Spanish flu epidemic around this time also appear in the Life After Life book and provide some seriously heartbreaking moments on the BBC show.

Life After Life with Sian Clifford and Eliza Riley

(Image credit: BBC)

Ursula’s particularly close bond with her younger brother Teddy is also very present in both, with Teddy’s survival throughout the war something Ursula tries desperately to secure. In the book Life After Life, Teddy’s death and survival take place in different timelines, with his survival playing a major role in the ending.

The novel also takes Ursula into the thick of the action during World War II and she even manages to kill Adolf Hitler in one of her last lives before the book ends. Although the BBC drama also takes Ursula down this path, it doesn’t come that close to the end and the show’s ending instead focuses on her coming to terms with her extraordinary life.

Rather than seeing Ursula and Teddy come face to face one last time as she comes to terms with her reality being “true”, it’s the bond between Ursula and her father that comes to the fore at the end of the story. final.

Life After Life with James McArdle

(Image credit: BBC)

From the first episode, the wonderful narration of Olivier Award winner and star of season 5 of The Crown, Lesley Manville, tells the audience that Ursula is Hugh’s favourite. Their bond anchors the viewer throughout the ever-changing life of Ursula Todd and her father’s warnings and her decision to bravely leave Fox Corner and return to the danger of London creates a different ending that echoes the theme. of acceptance of the book.

Ultimately, although the ending and timing of some details were changed somewhat from the original Life After Life book, the adaptation remains largely faithful to Kate Atkinson’s award-winning novel.

Is there a sequel to the Life After Life book?

Anyone who couldn’t resist re-reading The Holiday ending after seeing the show or delving into The Girl Before book for more will probably already be considering checking out the Life After Life book. And there is good news because while the story of Ursula Todd and her many lives and deaths could end there, the story of her brother Teddy does not.

Life After Life with Sean Delaney

(Image credit: BBC)

Two years after the release of her original novel, the sequel to Kate Atkinson’s Life After Life book has been published. Titled A God in Ruins, the main character is Teddy and the author would have previously referred to it as a “companion” novel rather than a direct sequel.

Instead of picking up where Life After Life left off, A God In Ruins is non-chronological and tells Teddy’s story, including aspects of his children’s and grandchildren’s lives, which unfold during the Second World War.

It also has a seriously devastating ending twist that might have shocked even Life After Life fans, though they got used to unexpected twists of fate in the earlier novel. A God in Ruins won the Costa Book Award for the novel category the year it was published, garnering critical and public acclaim.

So if you found yourself drawn into Teddy’s story through Ursula’s eyes in Life After Life, then why not give this spellbinding companion a try?

What other books has Kate Atkinson written?

Life After Life with Thomasin McKenzie

(Image credit: BBC)

List of books by Kate Atkinson:

  • Behind the scenes at the museum
  • human croquet
  • emotionally weird
  • Not the end of the world
  • Case histories
  • A good ride
  • When will there be good news?
  • I started early, I took my dog
  • life after life
  • A god in ruins
  • Transcription
  • big sky

In addition to writing Life After Life and A God In Ruins, Kate Atkinson has also written four best-selling Jackson Brodie novels. His debut novel, Behind the Scenes at the Museum, won the Whitbread Book of the Year Award and his hugely successful career continues with his most recent novel, Big Sky, providing Brodie fans with the highly anticipated fifth installment of the popular series.

Now that you know who wrote the Life After Life book, there’s plenty of time to enjoy the layers of detail and unique premise in literary form as the BBC drama continues.

Life After Life airs Tuesdays on BBC Two at 9 p.m. and all episodes are available on BBC iPlayer.

Comments are closed.